Founded in 2009, Sustainable Woodstock is a not-for-profit community and environmental action and education organization that builds on Woodstock’s legacy as the birthplace of the modern conservation movement. Our vision promotes vibrant, inclusive, thriving communities where we live sustainably, now and in the future.
We encourage peoples of diverse backgrounds and from all walks of life to incorporate wise environmental, economic and socially responsible practices into their daily lives. Our programs and initiatives empower local and regional communities to meet the challenges of a changing world: from fighting climate change by reducing fossil fuel use and empowering reliance on renewable energy, to increasing community and residential recycling, improving long-term food security and promoting local and regional economic development.

We believe strongly that the intersection of the climate crisis and the movement for racial equity has made the connection between social justice and environmental stewardship clear and present. 

We are truly all in this together.


Board of Trustees

Sustainable Woodstock is led by a board of trustees consisting of members of the Woodstock community and surrounding towns. Trustees are elected to serve a three-year term and may be re-elected for an additional term of service.

Board of Trustees

Geoff Martin (Chair)
Amanda Kuhnert (Vice Chair)
John Endicott (Treasurer)
Donald Surdoval (Secretary)
Emma Allegretti
Pieter Bohen
Nicole Green
Liam Harp
Todd Kortekamp
Wendy Miller
Madeline Raynolds

Liaisons at Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park

Christina Marts
Steven Mortillo
Kelly Sczomak